May 20, 2024  
University Catalog 2023-2024 
University Catalog 2023-2024

Department of Computer Science

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges & Departments

Information about the Department of Computer Science 

Department Office

Office: Engineering and Technology A322
Phone: (323) 343-6690   Fax: (323) 343-6672
Department Website: Department of Computer Science


Eun-Young Elaine Kang
Phone: (323) 343-6690

The Faculty

Professors: Huiping Guo, Jiang Guo, Eun-Young Kang (Chair), Chengyu Sun, Behzad Parviz
Associate Professors:  Mohammad Pourhomayou, Zilong Ye, Yuqing Zhu
Assistant Professors: Navid Amini, Negin Forouzesh, Manveen Kaur, David Krum, Jungsoo Lim
FERP Professors: Vladimir N. Akis, Raj S. Pamula
Emeriti: Russell J. Abbott, Vladimir N. Akis, Donald I. Kiel., Raj S. Pamula


The Department of Computer Science offers a pre-eminent computer science program that prepares students from diverse backgrounds for productive careers by providing them with a student-centered, practically-focused quality learning experience.

Mission Statement

To graduate well educated computer scientists who are prepared to meet the challenges of a rapidly changing, increasingly complex world. This will be accomplished through:

  • A well-qualified faculty who care about students and their success.
  • A dynamic, up-to-date curriculum that has an optimal balance between theory and practice.
  • Laboratories, computer facilities, and instructional classrooms on par with any computer science program in the nation.
  • Unique co-curricular opportunities for students such as participation in student design competitions, professional student organizations, and pre-professional employment.
  • Opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students to participate in research and industry-funded design clinic projects.
  • Mutually beneficial partnerships with area industry that take advantage of our location in one of the most concentrated high-tech centers in the nation.
  • Strong cooperative relationships with local high schools, community colleges, and with other four-year institutions.


The Bachelor of Science in Computer Science is accredited by the Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET.


    Degree - UndergraduateDegree - MinorDegree - BlendedDegree - Graduate


      Computer Science (Graduate)Computer Science (Undergraduate)

      Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges & Departments