Jun 13, 2024  
University Catalog 2024-2025 
University Catalog 2024-2025

Department of Political Science


Engineering and Technology Building (E&T), A523
Phone: (323) 343-2230
Fax: (323) 343-6452


Prof. Taylor Dark, Engineering and Technology Building (E&T), A517
(323) 343-2230


Faculty and students of the Department of Political Science engage in teaching and learning-critically and systematically-about government, politics, public affairs, and public policy in the United States and the world. Political science courses embrace elements of the liberal arts, social sciences, and citizen education. The Department offers three degree programs: Bachelor of Arts in Political Science, Master of Arts in Political Science, and Master of Public Administration.

The Bachelor of Arts in Political Science provides pre-professional education for careers in government, non-profit organizations, teaching, and business, as well as for admission to graduate and law school. Students may choose from four options: General Political Science, Global Politics, Pre-Legal Studies, and Public Administration. We also offer minors in General Political Science, Pre-Legal Studies, Public Administration, and Global Politics to students majoring in other subjects. The two graduate degree programs prepare students for professional careers in government, public service, public sector management, international relations, and teaching. Our graduate  and undergraduate courses also help prepare students for more effective civic engagement and participation in the political life of their communities.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Department of Political Science is to combine teaching, research, and scholarship to educate students to:

  • Think critically and systematically about government and politics across local, national, and global settings;
  • Prepare for successful careers and graduate study in law, public service, politics, international affairs, and numerous other fields;
  • Become active and informed citizens through an understanding of American politics and society; and,
  • Contribute to the discipline of political science through professional participation and scholarly activities in academic and civic communities.


The Master of Public Administration program is accredited by NASPAA (Network of Schools of Public Policy, Affairs, and Administration). NASPAA is the recognized global accreditor of master’s degree programs in public administration, public policy, public affairs, non-profit and related fields.

The Faculty

Professors:  Taylor Dark (Chair), Gar Culbert, Timothy C. Lim, Michael L. McLendon
Associate Professors:  Emily Acevedo, Martin Adamian,  Jessica DeShazo, Chongmyoung Lee, Marla Parker, Ellen Shiau
Assistant Professors:  Jared Abbott, Gabrielle Clark, Xian Gao
Emeriti:  Theodore Anagnoson, Greg Andranovich, Scott R. Bowman, Naomi Caiden, Siegrun Fox Freyss, Stephen K. Ma, Edward Malecki, Jaime Regalado, Nadine Koch Steinberg, Michael Siler, Kenneth Wagner


    Degree - UndergraduateDegree - MinorDegree - GraduateCredential - Teaching


      Political Science (Graduate)Political Science (Undergraduate)Page: 1 | 2