Sep 20, 2019  
University Catalog 2018-2019(ARCHIVED CATALOG) 
University Catalog 2018-2019(ARCHIVED CATALOG) [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Department of Communication Studies

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Departments

Music 104
Phone: (323) 343-4200
FAX: (323) 343-6467

The Department of Communication Studies offers undergraduate programs leading to a Bachelor of Arts degree in Communication and a minor in Communication. It also offers a graduate program leading to the Master of Arts degree in Communication Studies with options in Communication and in Telecommunications and Film. These graduate programs are described following the undergraduate programs. For more information, please refer to University Programs.

The Faculty

Professors: Mohammad Auwal, Kevin Baaske, Chunsheng Bai, Beryl L. Bellman, D. Rob DeChaine, Lena Chao, and David Olsen (Chair).
Associate Professors: Angela Cooke-Jackson, Elaine Wittenberg.
Assistant Professors: Kamran Afary, Kate Kurtin, Nina O’Brien, Kristina Ruiz-Mesa, Cynthia Wang, and Mu Wu.
Emeriti: Michael P. Kelley.



Programs for this Department

Undergraduate Major

Communication, B.A.  

Undergraduate Minor

  • Minor in Communication   

Graduate Major

  • Communication Studies, M.A. 

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Departments